I received an SMS: From Yahoo Mail. your phone number 9613569323 won 9500$ in the yahoo 2007 mail offer?
I have contacted this e-mail address, and received a response asking me to provide only personal information (including full name, profession, full address and country). They also mentioned the following: "No processing/registration charges or any form of financial payments should be made to Yahoo! or any of it’s affiliated consultants in the U.S, the programme is FREE. The Yahoo! 2007 Mail Offer prize is shipped to recipients only as Cashier’s cheques. Your banking/other personal financial information not required (Your Credit Card information is not required). "
I have sent my personal information online by an e-mail and received another SMS informing me the following: "Your personal information has been received by the VeriSign Digital Notarization System. Full online data security guaranteed". Is that a spam?? Can they use my personal information for a bad purpose? what shall I do?? Please HELP me.
Like this post? Subscribe to my RSS feed and get loads more!
4 comments
enstable2 on July 6, 2010 at 11:06 am
The first two answers are correct; Yahoo would never ask for personel information they already have. You have been duped.
W on July 6, 2010 at 11:06 am
Yes it sure looks like it. My suggestion - get Peekamo and you can block sender IDs in the future.
You really got to go to http://www.peekamo.com and register for their free service. At peekamo, you can send free TXT messages to anyone in the USA and Canada from your desktop. You don’t need to know their carrier or anything. Best part is that it is free. You don’t have to worry about spam either. You can create groups too. I’m from Canada where if you don’t have a plan, TXT messages to the US can cost upto 15cents! Check it out - it really works and its really free. and no spam at all.
Why pay the telco’s when you don’t have to right!
Niz
Peekamo.com ID: NIZ
Toronto, Canada
teresa w on July 6, 2010 at 11:06 am
It’s a scam. Sorry to say, you are going to need more help than we can give you here.
Venice Girl on July 6, 2010 at 11:06 am
Spam hell! It’s a scam! They have your name and address, that’s all they need to take over your identity. If they’ve gone this far to get it, chances are they’ll use it. Report it, do what you can to cover your a$$ and DON’T EVER DO THIS AGAIN! Don’t give out your personal information to people you don’t know. It’s the same as "don’t talk to strangers!"